Scientific Understanding of Consciousness
Consciousness as an Emergent Property of Thalamocortical Activity

Convergence-Divergence Zones Architecture

(Damasio, Self Comes to Mind, 142)

Schematics of the convergence-divergence architecture

 Four hierarchical levels are depicted.

 The primary cortical level is shown in small rectangular boxes, and three levels of convergence-divergence (larger boxes) are marked CDZ 1, CDZ2, and CDR.

 Between CDZ levels and CDR levels (interrupted arrows), numerous intermediate CDZs are possible.

 Note that, throughout the network, every forward projection is reciprocated by a return projection (arrows).

Further discussion of convergence-divergence zones.

Link to Convergence-Divergence Zones

Link to Functionality Diagram of Convergence-Divergence Architecture


Return to Reentry and Recursion

Return to Neural Network